On a Warm Winter’s Night

It’s cold (for Atlanta), and raining, and gray. The days are short. The dark nights are getting longer. But if you look, there are bright spots. Houses lit up for Christmas. Fireplaces with crackling logs (yes we have fireplaces in Georgia, mostly for looks). The smell of baked goodies that you will get in trouble for nibbling on because “those are going to be gifts!”

I confess, I do not like winter. The cold doesn’t make me feel alive. It makes me feel attacked. But I do so love some of the things that come with the cooler weather.

And that brings me to the subject of jackets. Specifically, motorcycle jackets. More specifically, the greatest leather motorcycle jackets produced. Anywhere. Period.firstlanglitzjacket-300x204

Ross Langlitz was working at a glove makers shop when his love of motorcycles and need for gear led him to build his own leather jacket. His riding buddies wanted one like the one he wore, and it wasn’t long before he opened his own shop. He started making leather gear in 1947 and now his granddaughter is carrying on the family tradition.

Each jacket is carefully measured, cut, and manufactured to the customer’s specifications. The quality is unsurpassed and you have to admit, Ross was quite a character.rosscolumbia-150x150

This past summer I got to tour the shop. I met the staff, and saw the same sewing machines that have been stitching out jackets for decades of people you’ve seen in movies, and on the road. Bennie carefully took my measurements, and patiently went over options. Then he went over them again. And then one more time. This place really wants to get it right.

It’s cold now. In a month or so, I should receive my own Langlitz jacket to keep me warm out there. Actually, the thought is making me warm right now.langlitz

 

8 thoughts on “On a Warm Winter’s Night

  1. FYI I have moved my motorcycle coffee blog to http://www.jdwharton.com this was the old jim and motorcycle blog. I just updated a Blue Ridge Parkway end to end ride.

    On Sun, Dec 4, 2016 at 9:00 PM, themotorcycletourer wrote:

    > losthillbilly posted: “It’s cold (for Atlanta), and raining, and gray. The > days are short. The dark nights are getting longer. But if you look, there > are bright spots. Houses lit up for Christmas. Fireplaces with crackling > logs (yes we have fireplaces in Georgia, mostly for loo” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

