Fear and waiting in North Georgia

After my unscheduled get off on March 25th, my incredible wife kindly took me to the emergency room for some expert opinions on my new found bruises and stiff muscles.

I met a nice lady at the admissions window.  She was sincere as she checked me into the emergency room.  “This is exactly why I got rid of my bike.”

“Really?”  I said. “What did you ride?”

“Had a Harley but I was coming around a curve up in the mountains and a car was in my lane.  I had no choice but to lay it down and went off the side.”

“Sounds bad.”

“Scraped up my leg and tore this tendon.”  She showed me her normal looking arm.  “Wow.  So are you glad the bike is gone?”

“No, I still miss it on days like this.  Great weather.  But I see so many people come in here after a wreck,” she moved her hand suggesting the entire hospital ”that I just got rid of it.”

Okay, I’ll not address the fact that the hospital is where every single person comes who has a wreck, so if you want to see them all, work at the admissions deck in the emergency room!  Sorry, I guess I just addressed that fact.

Anyway, my theory is that no one EVER got rid of a bike and is glad to have a hole in their garage (or driveway, or shed…).  I’ve seen fear keep people off horses, roller coasters, and bridges.  Fear can be a great thing.  It can be your brain telling you that there is a boundary you should not cross when you hear that voice say, “what if we get caught?”  It can help you react faster than you even thought possible when avoiding snakes.  It can help you reach a decision, but it should never be the dominant drive in that decision, unless you are having shots fired in your direction.

I’ve talked to lots of people who got rid of their bikes.  I have yet to meet one that says, “I’m so glad I did that.  Best decision I ever made was to stop riding.”

Just a few thoughts while I still hope to fill the hole in my garage SOOON! IMG_5386

 

3 thoughts on “Fear and waiting in North Georgia

  1. Not to mention the hole in one’s heart and life in general… The thing is, there are risks everywhere and in every activity. Hell, one’s home is a damn dangerous place.

    Now, I’m not a religious fellow, but I swear, sometimes riding while rocking out to my favorite tunes leads me to think that there just might be a great, benevolent force out there in the universe that wants me to enjoy this experience called life.

    No other activity has ever made me feel that way as much. The risk is worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel closer to God on a motorcycle than anywhere else. I firmly believe that when it’s my time to go, there is nothing I can do to stop it. It doesn’t matter whether I am (responsibly) riding my motorcycle, or sitting on a couch and have a heart attack. I choose not to live life in fear of the unknown!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

