I can see clearly now

The months preceding sauna season in Georgia can often be referred to as “random typhoon season.”  My rides have been hampered by weather, and work.  Although I have managed to take a long lunch ride with a co-worker who is trying to break in his new Harley, and a few evening rides along the local lakes and backroads, I’m still waiting on a good full 400 mile day that leaves me with a tired perma-smile for the next 48 hours.

Today, Sunday, was a day that I had reserved in my mind for many hours of enjoying some mountains with Betty-Sioux.  Betty-Sioux is the name given at the christening for my new ride.  My youngest daughter is the source of that incredibly fitting moniker.  She’s gifted.

This is how Betty-Sioux appears with her removable windshield removed for more breezy summer soiree’s.

This is how Sunday appears when you were expecting to ride.

IMG_5443

Don’t let the leopard spots fool you. There was no direction to ride that did not include swimming.

I know, I know, I could have ridden carelessly with my face to the winds as I have on many occasions, but I think in my old age I’m growing accustomed to more comfort and less bravado.  If I’m not on a multi-day road trip, I’d just as soon not enjoy the lack of scenery from the rivers on my face shield.

Instead of heading out into the deluges I decided to invest some time in a project that I hope will prove helpful when the days of 110% humidity and 90º temperatures let all Georgians feel a soggy kinship with swamp creatures.

When my Indian doesn’t find it necessary to don the wall of bug collecting plexiglass I need a safe place to keep it’s windshield from harm.  A bag?  A vault?  Another Indian?  All good ideas, but sure enough, some smart fellow on the interwebs had already addressed the problem.

20014-bc523af7fb8d83e30aeb57756a813cce

This is the British version

And after checking out his forum post on an Indian rider website, I tried to copy his homemade craftiness.

I have to admit, my attempt was nowhere near as precisely finished as his but It does seem to do the trick.  And for a rainy Sunday it was probably a better use of my motorcycle time than treating my bike to a mud spray tour.

Soon.  Soon, I’ll be out of the garage again.  I can handle sweat better than rain these days.

Leave a Reply

